Give a man nature and he makes…

Rowan Leaves & Hole If someone were to throw you outside and say, “I want you to make me something interesting, something beautiful, something that takes skill, but all you can use is things you find in nature.” What in the world would you do?

Andy Goldsworthy takes environmental and land art to a level that I never knew existed. This man is amazing! He only uses things he find in nature such as leaves, icicles, rocks, mud, snow, twigs, and thorns. Along with this he doesn’t bring any manmade tools with him, he’ll use sharp stones to break or form the medium he working with. Instead of choosing what he uses like any other artist may choose to paint with acrylics that day, Goldsworthy works with what the seasons give him. If it begins to snow, he’s going to work with snow.

What he does is so new and refreshing that it gives you a larger appreciation for the world around us. I don’t think many people look outside and think, “hmm, i wonder what I can make out of those pinecones that will really knock the neighbors socks off.” I’m particularly thankful for artists like Andy Goldsworthy for opening my eyes to something spectacular.

Because I believe sometimes pictures don’t suffice, below is a compilation of Goldsworthy doing what he does best from the documentary Rivers and Tides.

 

~ by itsartyo on September 25, 2009.

2 Responses to “Give a man nature and he makes…”

  1. Andy Goldsworthy is one of my favorite artists, good choice. I don’t know how new he is but It doesn’t matter. Not to mention “Rivers and Tides” is maybe the only documentary with a surprise ending. Good choice.

  2. This guy is a really great artist to write on because he is dedicated and experimental. His works are so interesting. I once saw a movie on his works with one piece where he made a giant egg of rock slabs. His works have an amazing sense of process from conception, plan, design, applied, and eventually even installed in some cases. Here’s a *salute* to Andy Goldsworthy!

Leave a comment